The J. L. Stevens Building was constructed in 1891 at the corner of Onondaga (Main) Street and Kellogg Avenue. The first floor housed Grove Grocery and the second floor was an opera house that could fit 600 guests. The building cost $13,000 to build. Photo from the Farwell T. Brown Photographic Archive, Ames Public Library.
Ames Historical Society
World War II: Ames Doing Its Part
To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the start of World War II, our new exhibit is "World War II: Ames Doing Its Part." The exhibit features stories about day-to-day life in Ames for those at home who supported the war effort in countless ways. View engaging photos, information, and artifacts that tell the story of Ames' involvement in the war.
Current smaller exhibits include:
A City Afloat: Floods of the 1990s
416 Douglas Ave # 101
Ames, IA 50010
Tuesday through Saturday from 10:00am to 4:00pm
Other times by appointment.
The Ames History Center is located at 416 Douglas Avenue. The building was paid off in early 2012, but the Society continues to rent out about half of the building to cover operating costs. The Society occupies the entire first floor of the building, accessible from the main entrance on the corner of Douglas and 5th.
The History Center includes archival storage, offices, a media room, meeting space, and display space. Artifacts are currently stored in five off-site storage facilities. Our mission is to engage our diverse public and provide unique opportunities to learn about Ames history.